Fashion / Future Research / In the News

IN THE NEWS | Those earrings from Dolce & Gabbana’s Spring/Summer 2013 collection

This is not directly related to my MRP but incidents like these (i.e., the representation and exoticization of African fashion in mainstream fashion, issues  surrounding the cultural appropriation of African fashion and culture etc.) are areas for further research.

Go ahead and file this one under  “Wow, that’s racist.” That’s all I really have to say about these kind of occurrences in fashion. I’m quite disappointed at this example because when I was a tween just starting to collect fashion magazines and learn about designers, Dolce & Gabbana were my favourite designers.  I still think that they are very talented designers (I loved their Spring/Summer 2012 and Fall/Winter 2012 collections) but this so blatantly offensive.

To top it off, there were zero black models used for this collection which had 88 looks. The only positive thing about this is that the backlash has been immediate and strong. Progress right?

Get the full story here: Did Dolce & Gabbana send racist earrings down the catwalk?

 Dolce & Gabbana Spring/Summer Ready-to-Wear collection on Style.com 

Sidenote: This is also reminiscent of Vogue Italia‘s “slave earrings” fiasco that happened last year. The quick version of that story is that Vogue Italia did a slideshow of hoops earrings on their website and titled it “Slave earrings”. Due to the public outcry, “slave earrings” was changed to “ethnic earrings” and the accompanying text was removed from Vogue Italia‘s website. I find the term “ethnic earrings” to be problematic as well. What does that even mean? Why can’t they be called hoop earrings?

2 thoughts on “IN THE NEWS | Those earrings from Dolce & Gabbana’s Spring/Summer 2013 collection

  1. o my god, I can’t stop thinking about this collection. It’s so offensive on many levels, and at the same time it is a stunning and incredible collection, but the images and content is so heinous. I want to rant about it, but all I can do is shake my head in sadness, disappointment, and disgust.

Leave a Reply

